Read or delete your data
Hi! You are here because you have used the ApplyMagicSauce ("AMS") prediction demo and would like to read or delete the data that you have shared with the University of Cambridge Psychometrics Centre ("we", "us"), which developed and maintains this software. Further information on how to exercise your rights is available below.
What data do we have and why?
- The only digital footprint data we collect or store is that which you explicitly opted in to share with us.
- Data can be shared with us by connecting a third party platform account (e.g. via Facebook connect or Twitter login) or by sharing a file containing relevant data (e.g. a .zip archive or .json) using our Data Portability Tool.
- We use this data to show you a prediction of your psychological profile (how others see you) and we store it for scientific research purposes as defined in Recital 159 of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).
- We also ask permission to share it with academic researchers with a formal University affiliation or with registered charities and non-profits, but only in an anonymous format such that the information can never be used to identify you or any other individual user. We will never share, and have never shared, this data with any for-profit commercial organisations for any reason.
How can you read or delete your data?
We offer several methods for you to read or delete the data that you have shared with us. Which one you choose to use will depend on how the data was shared in the first place.
Using Facebook Connect - Read and Delete
If you logged into the AMS prediction demo using your Facebook account, and you still have access to that account, the easiest way to view or delete your Facebook data is by logging in with Facebook again.
- Facebook generates a unique user ID for every application that you connect to your Facebook account. When you log in to the AMS Facebook app, we store this app user ID in hashed form, which is a form of one-way encryption. It is unique to the AMS app and not related to your platform-wide user ID. The Facebook data we receive from you is therefore anonymous by design.
- Because of this, we need to be informed of your AMS app-specific user ID in order to identify your data.
- The most secure way for you to inform us of your user ID is to log in with Facebook again and share your basic user profile only. We will use this to show you all the Facebook data we have linked to your app user ID and provide you with the option to delete this data, or you can allow us to keep it.
- Note: if you are currently logged out of Facebook, or still have the AMS app authorised, then you may not see the consent dialogue for basic user profile immediately.
(Facebook Connect is temporarily unavailable due to reasons beyond our control. Please use the Facebook App User ID method for now.)
Using Facebook App User ID - Delete Only
When you log into the AMS Facebook app, the profile data you share is matched to the app-specific user ID that Facebook generates for you. If you cannot access your Facebook account or you have deleted it (good for you!), then we can still delete whatever data you shared with us previously based on this app user ID.
- If you use this method, we can show you the source (e.g. likes, text) and the created date of the data that we have stored alongside the app user ID but we cannot show you the content of the data itself. It will appear as *** PROTECTED ***.
- This is necessary to protect your information because, without you having logged in, we have no way to verify that this app user ID belongs to you. Please enter your AMS app user ID to continue.
- Please read How do I find my user ID for my apps and games? for information on finding your user ID.
If you logged into the AMS prediction demo using your Twitter account, and you still have access to that account, the easiest way to view or delete your Twitter data is by logging in with Twitter again.
- When you log in to the AMS prediction demo with Twitter, we receive the text of your Tweets linked to your Twitter ID.
- Unfortunately this Twitter ID is not app-specific and therefore someone who knows your Twitter ID could try to read or delete data you had shared with other platforms.
- You must therefore authenticate with Twitter in order to re-share this Twitter ID with us and prove your right to view or delete the text data associated with it.
- If you no longer have access to your Twitter account, then you can delete your data using your CamPsych ID. We cannot allow you to read your data by another method, since we do not associate it with any other personally identifiable information.
Using CamPsych ID - Delete Only
If you used the AMS prediction demo after the introduction of our Data Portability Tool, then we showed you a CamPsych ID before the prediction results page.
- CamPsych ID is a unique 32-character key generated by us for the sole purpose of allowing you to retain control over any data you share with us, even if you lose access to your third party platform account.
- If you use this method, we can show you the source (e.g. likes, text) and the created date of the data that we have stored alongside the CamPsych ID but we cannot show you the content of the data itself. It will appear as *** PROTECTED ***.
- This is necessary to protect your information because, without authentication, we have no way to verify that this CamPsych ID belongs to you, even though it would be very difficult for someone else to guess or obtain it.
- We do not store any other personally identifiable information by which to identify data shared with us via the Data Portability Tool.